When police are summoned to a car crash, the responding officer talks to those involved, surveys the scene, and completes an accident report. This report usually contains the opinions of the investigating officer, as well as detailed information about the accident, including:
- Time, date, and location
- Relevant weather and road conditions
- Makes, models, and license plate numbers of the involved vehicles
- Contact information, insurance information, and statements from involved drivers
- Contact information and statements from passengers and witnesses
Though police accident reports aren't admissible in court for the purpose of proving negligence, they can still provide crash victims—and their personal injury attorneys—with valuable information. Unfortunately, in Delaware, people involved in car accidents don't automatically receive a copy of the police report. They can, however, request a copy of the police report from the law enforcement agency that responded to the accident.
How Can I Obtain a Copy of the Police Report?
To obtain a copy of an accident report from the Delaware State Police, crash victims must send a request to Delaware State Police, Traffic Operations Section, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 19903, along with a copy of the Collision Information Exchange form given to them by the investigating officer. The fee—which must accompany the request for the police accident report—is $25 for a standard collision report or $60 for a fatal collision report. Accident victims with questions about obtaining a report can call 302-739-5931 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday.
The process to obtain an accident report from municipal police departments is similar, though the exact details vary. Call the specific law enforcement agency that responded to the accident for additional information.
Do You Need an Experienced Car Accident Attorney?